Who's Number One

Who Are The Reigning Tezos WNO Champions?

Who Are The Reigning Tezos WNO Champions?

See the reigning Tezos WNO Champions, and the history of each division title holder here.

Oct 2, 2023 by Corey Stockton
Who Are The Reigning Tezos WNO Champions?

The Tezos WNO title is one of the most revered in all of grappling.

Only the best, most exciting athletes in jiu-jitsu have a chance to compete for the title in one of a few select divisions. 

The first Tezos WNO champs were crowned in September 2021, when five titles were awarded during the WNO Championships. Then, Kade Ruotolo, Tye Ruotolo, Tim Spriggs, Mayssa Bastos and Rafaela Guedes carved their names into the events history as the first five champs.

A month later, In October 2021, Ffion Davies, Beatriz Mesquita and Mikey Musumeci also earned division titles.

In January 2022, Pedro Marinho became the first light heavyweight champion. On the same night Tye Ruotolo became a two-division champion by winning the welterweight title.

Here are the reigning Tezos WNO Champions

  • Men's featherweight (145): Diogo Reis
  • Men's lightweight (155): Dante Leon
  • Men's welterweight (170): Mica Galvao
  • Men's middleweight (185): Tye Ruotolo
  • Men's light heavyweight (205) Pedro Marinho
  • Men's heavyweight (205+) Gordon Ryan
  • Women's straw weight (115): Mayssa Bastos
  • Women's flyweight (125): Ffion Davies
  • Women's bantamweight (135): Beatriz Mesquita
  • Women's featherweight (145): Elisabeth Clay
  • Women's Heavyweight (145+)  Nathiely de Jesus 

Tezos WNO division title chain

Men's Bantamweight:

  • October 2021: Mikey Musumeci def Richard Alarcon to win vacant bantamweight title.
  • January 2022: Mikey Musumeci def Estevan Martinez to defend bantamweight title
  • January 2023: Bantamweight division disbanded by Tezos WNO

Men's Featherweight:

  • October 2023: Diogo Reis def Keith Krikorian and Gabriel Sousa in a 4-man bracket to claim the vacant featherweight title at Tezos WNO 20.

Men's Lightweight:

  • September 2021: Kade Ruotolo defeats Diego Pato, Josh Cisneros and Gabriel Sousa in eight man bracket to win vacant lightweight title.
  • July 2023: Kade Ruotolo vacates lightweight title.
  • August 2023: Dante Leon def Ethan Crelinsten to win vacant lightweight title.

Men's Welterweight:

  • January 2022: Tye Ruotolo def Levi Jones-Leary to win vacant welterweight title
  • August 2023: Tye Ruotolo vacates welterweight title 
  • October 2023: Mica Galvao def Jay Rodriguez and PJ Barch in a 4-man bracket to claim the vacant featherweight title at Tezos WNO 20.

Men's Middleweight:

  • September 2021: Tye Ruotolo def Dante Leon, Johnny Tama and Mica Galvao in eight man bracket to win vacant middleweight title.

Men's Light Heavyweight:

  • January 2022: Pedro Marinho def Craig Jones to win vacant light heavyweight title
  • February 2023: Pedro Marinho def Giancarlo Bodoni to defend light heavyweight title

Men's Heavyweight:

  • September 2021: Tim Spriggs def Haisam Rida, Tex Johnson and Kaynan Duarte to win vacant WNO champion.
  • July 2022: Tim Spriggs vacates heavyweight title.
  • July 2022: Gordon Ryan def Pedro Marinho to win vacant heavyweight title.
  • August 2022: Gordon Ryan def Felipe Pena to defend heavyweight title.
  • October 2023: Gordon Ryan def Patrick Gaudio to defend heavyweight title.

Women's Straw weight

  • September 2021: Mayssa Bastos def Tammi Musumeci, Alex Nguyen and Grace Gundrum to win vacant straw weight title.

Women's Flyweight

  • October 2022: Ffion Davies def Nathalie Ribeiro to win vacant flyweight title.
  • August 2023: Ffion Davies def Jasmine Rocha to defend flyweight title.

Women's Bantamweight

  • October 2022: Beatriz Mesquita def Luiza Monteiro to win vacant bantamweight title.

Women's Featherweight

  • October 2023: Elisabeth Clay def Brianna Ste-Marie at Tezos WNO 20 to claim the vacant featherweight title.

Women's Heavyweight

  • September 2021: Rafaela Guedes def Elisabeth Clay, Amanda Leve and Kendall Reusing to win vacant heavyweight title.
  • October 2023: Nathiely de Jesus def Rafaela Guedes at Tezos WNO 20 via decision to claim the heavyweight title.