2024 World Jiu-Jitsu IBJJF Championship

Here Are The All-Time Roosterweight Champions At IBJJF Worlds

Here Are The All-Time Roosterweight Champions At IBJJF Worlds

List of all the IBJJF rooster weight class winners since 1996 at IBJJF World Championships including Men's and Women's divisions.

May 14, 2024 by Kylie Rodriguez

The 2024 World Jiu-Jitsu IBBJF World Championships are May 29-June 2, so it's time to recap all of the past winners in all of the weight classes. 

First up, they are small but mighty, it's the Rooster weight class. 

Since we are talking about Brazilian Jiu-jitsu it makes sense that most of the past winners in the division are Brazilian ,who have dominated by winning this weight class for years. 

That was until American Michael Musumeci Jr. won the title in the men’s Rooster weight in 2019 and 2021. 

But since then it’s gone back to being won by all Brazilians. Here are the rest of the winners in the Rooster weight division since 1996 at IBJJF Worlds. 

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 1996: Marcos Barreto

Barreto won the first Rooster weight title at the first ever World Jiu-Jitsu IBBJF World Championships ever, which he only won once. That same year he won the Brazilian national championship more commonly known as the Brasileiro.

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 1997: Robson Moura

At 19 years old Moura won his first title at the IBBJF World Championships in the Rooster weight class. Then in 1998, Moura then moved up to the Lightfeather weight class and completed a three-peat in the Lightfeather weight class. Then Moura didn't win gold at the IBBJF World Championships until he won the Lightfeather title in 2007. Which made him a five-time IBBJF World Championships winner.

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 1998: Marcelo Ferreira

This was Ferreira's first and only title at the IBBJF World Championship.

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 1999 and 2000: Omar Salum

Salum is often referred to as one of the best Rooster grapplers of all-time. By winning the Rooster weight class back-to-back, which no one had done before and setting a record for the division. He held this record for 10 years.

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2001: Bernardo Pitel

Pitel is also a four-time Brazilian national champion. He also won at the IBBJF World Championship one time in black belt and one time in brown. Pitel also has a Jiu-Jitsu training center in named after him in Katy, Texas.  

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2002: Marcos Norat

Norat only won the IBBJF World Championship once in the Rooster division. He never won a Brazilian National Championship but did win a bronze medal in 2004.  

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2003: Felipe Costa

When Costa won his Rooster title at IBBJF World Championship in 2003 he had never placed on a podium of a major competition. Costa did compete in the lower belt divisions but had never won a major tournament. His underdog type story was so attractive to many that in 2010 he created his own documentary called “Felipe 30+." 

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2004: Gabriel Moraes

Moraes won the Rooster title at IBBJF Worlds in 2004. Then the next year in 2005, he won silver in the Rooster. Then in 2013 Moraes won gold in the Lightfeather category. 

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2005: Samuel Braga

Braga made it all the way to black belt in just five years which is very rare in the sport of BJJ. After he got his black belt he won at the IBBJF World Championship in 2005. Then he later won in 2008 in Lightfeather.

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2006: Daniel Otero

Otero's win in the Rooster division was his only championship win at the IBJJF Worlds. He did win a silver medal at the IBBJF World Championship before his championship win in 2003. 

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016,2017, 2018: Bruno Malfacine

Malfacine beat Salum record in 2010 by winning three times in the same division but then won three more times becoming the current record holder with 10 Rooster IBBJF World Championship titles. 


Unlock this video, live events, and more with a subscription!

Sign Up

Already a subscriber? Log In

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2008, 2013: Caio Terra

Terra was a second year black belt when he won his first Rooster IBBJF Worlds titles in 2008 and won again in 2013. Even though he only won two Rooster IBBJF World Championship titles, he has dominated the no-gi game by winning 10 IBJJF World No-Gi Championship titles. 

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2019, 2021: Michael Musumeci Jr

Musumeci is the first American to win more than one IBJJF Worlds title at black belt. Both of his titles at the IBJJF World championship are in the Rooster division. He was previously in the Lightfeather division where he won three times, making him a five-time IBJJF Worlds champion. 

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2022: Thalison Soares

The same year Soares won the Rooster  IBJJF Worlds championship title he won the IBJJF Euros and has won this event for three years straight.  

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2023: Lucas Pinheiro

Before Pinheiro won gold in the Rooster weight class he won silver in 2017. He is the current champion and looks to defend at the 2024 World Jiu-jitsu IBBJF World Championships.

Women’s Rooster IBJJF Weight Class Champions

 Here are all of the Rooster women’s winners. IBJJF has only had the Rooster Women's weight class since 2016.

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2016, 2017, 2018: Rikako Yuasa

Yuasa is a four-time IBBJF World Champion. Three of her wins were in the Rooster weight class. Before this she competed in the Lightfeather weight division and won at IBJJF Worlds in 2015. 

IBJJF Rooster World Champion In 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024: Mayssa Bastos

Bastos is a five-time IBBJF World Champion, she earned all her wins in the RoosterWeight division. Since she is the current title holder in the RoosterWeight class, she won the 2024 IBJJF Worlds championship Rooster weight title.


When Are IBJJF Worlds 2024 Championships?

The 2024 World Jiu-jitsu IBJJF World Championships are from May 29-June 2, 2024. 

How To Watch The IBJJF Worlds 2024 

Stream the 2024 IBJJF World Championships on FloGrappling and the FloSports app.

Watch BJJ On FloGrappling

FloGrappling is the streaming home to the best Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu events and news coverage. FloGrappling is the streaming home of: 

Join The BJJ Conversation By Following FloGrappling On Social